Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Assistance Resource Guide: Web Examples

Use the examples shown on this page to help you create citations for all different types of online sources

For sources not listed here, be sure to check out the Additional Resources tab found here for more examples, or stop by the library to take a look at the CSE 8th Edition Manual.  


Websites| Journal Articles & eBooks| Blog Posts, Newspapers & Videos| Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Dissertations

Websites

Website

Format: 

Title of website. Date of publication. Place of publication: Publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. URL. doi (if available).

Example

Canadian Dairy Network. c2015. Data Management Services. Guelph (ON): Canadian Dairy Network; [accessed 2015 Aug 13]. https://www.cdn.ca/ data-services/index.php


Website with an author's name

Format:

Author(s). Date. Title of website. Place of publication: Publisher; [date updated; accessed date]. URL.

Example:

Lear L. 1998. The life and legacy of Rachel Carson: Rachel Carson’s biography. New London (CT): Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives; [accessed 2016 Aug 27]. https://www.rachelcarson.org/Biography.aspx#.UE9foVF62So.


Website with no publication date

*Note: If the website does not have a publication date, look for a date of when the website was last updated. Use any terminology used on the website (updated, revised, modified, etc.). Or use the copyright date, preceded by the letter "c." Ex. c2015. If none of these can be found, use [date unknown]. 

Format:

Title of website. Date of publication. Place of publication: Publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. URL. doi (if available).

Example:

Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) in fish and sediment. [date unknown]. Gatineau (QC): Environment and Climate Change Canada; [modified 2016 Feb 17; accessed 2020 Dec 22]. https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/environmentalindicators/polybrominated-diphenyl-ethers-fish-sediment.html.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Dissertations

Online Encyclopedia/Dictionary

Format:

Hacker G. 2016. Microbial inhibitors of apoptosis. In: Encyclopedia of life sciences. Chichester (UK): John Wiley & Sons; [accessed 2020 Dec 21]. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470015902.a0021984.pub2. OED Online. c2020.

Example: 

Ethogram. Oxford English Dictionary. Oxford (England): Oxford University Press; [updated 2014 Mar; accessed 2020 Dec 22]. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/64832


Online Theses/Dissertation

Format: 

Author. Year. Title [content designator]. Place of publication: Publisher (often a university). [Date updated; Date accessed]. URL.

Example:

Murphy JP. 2011. Proteomics of downstream responses to growth signals in proliferating cells [dissertation]. Halifax (NS): Dalhousie University; [updated 2011 May 2; accessed 2012 Aug 1]. https://hdl.handle.net/10222/13498.

Chat with a Librarian

chat loading...

Journal Articles & eBooks

Journal Article 

Format:

Author AA. Publication Year. Article title. Journal name. [date updated; date accessed]; Volume(Issue): Pages (if available). URL. doi (if available).

Example

Savage E, Ramsay M, White J, Beard S, Lawson H, Hunjan R, Brown D. 2005. Mumps outbreaks across England and Wales in 2004: observational study. BMJ. [accessed 2005 May 31];330(7500):1119–1120. https://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/reprint/330/7500/1119. doi:10.1136/bmj.330.7500.1119.


eBook 

Format:

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Publication Year. Title of book: subtitle of book. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. URL

Example

Watson RR, Preedy VR, editors. 2010. Bioactive foods in promoting health: fruits and vegetables. Amsterdam: Academic Press; [accessed 2015 Apr 22]. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/ book/9780123746283

Blog Posts, Newspapers & Videos

Blog Post

Format:

Author(s). Date. Title of post [descriptive word]. Title of blog. [updated date; accessed date]. URL.

Example:

Mah C. 2012 Sep 23. Ophiothela brittle stars invade the Atlantic! [blog].The Echinoblog. [accessed 2016 Jun 12 ]. https://echinoblog.blogspot.ca/2012/08/ophiothela-brittle-stars-invade-atlantic.html.


YouTube Video

Format:

Creator, AA. Date. Title of video [format]. URL.

Example:

Neistat, C. (2012, November 3). Staten Island hurricane destruction [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Wr9594oKZNQ#


Online Newspaper

Format: 

Author, AA. Date. Title of article. Publisher (Publication location). [Date updated; date accessed]. URL. 

Example: 

McPhee J. 2020 Jan 21. Fundraising goal reached for Halifax wilderness park. Chronicle-Herald (Halifax, NS). [updated 2020 Jan 21; accessed 2020 Feb 27]. https://www.thechronicleherald.ca/news/local/fundraisinggoal-reached-for-halifax-wilderness-park-400718/.