Skip to main content

Video Tutorials: Database Search Tutorials

Database Access Tutorial

Database Access Tutorial

Learn how to find the variety of academic database resources available to students, faculty, and staff from the library at Hagerstown Community College. This tutorial will guide you to the location of these resources and describe how to log in if using these resources off-campus.

Academic Search Premier Tutorials

Basic Search in Academic Search Premier

Learn how to do a basic search with the Academic Search Premier Database. Use a simple phrase to find a topic and learn how to limit results based on what type of articles are needed.

Advanced Search in Academic Search Premier

This video explains how to use the advanced search feature of the Academic Search Premier Database. This allows multiple topics or phrases to be searched, or omitted when looking for articles.

Results List in Academic Search Premier

This tutorial shows how to best navigate the results list of Academic Search Premier. Learn how to best browse the results of your search, how to save articles, and different ways to view them.

Access Science Video Tutorial

Access Science Video Tutorial

This tutorial highlights key features for searching the Access Science Database. Basic and advanced searches, browsing topics, navigating results lists, and retrieving and formatting citations are covered in this video.

APA PsycArticles® Video Tutorial

APA PsycArticles® Video Tutorial

This tutorial shows how to do a basic search using the APA PsycArticles® database. Using a simple phrase to find a topic, learning how to limit results and navigate the site, and retrieving citations of an article are topics covered in this video.

Please note that the database name has changed to APA PsycArticles®, so it is now located under A in the A-Z Databases list.

Business Source Complete Video Tutorial

Business Source Complete Video Tutorial

Using a subject-specific database can be very helpful when your research is focused on a particular subject area. This video tutorial will explore some of the useful features of this business and management-related database.

CQ Researcher Video Tutorial

CQ Researcher Video Tutorial

This tutorial highlights how to use the CQ Researcher database to browse for a current topic or to search for more information on a topic you have already chosen. Advanced search, navigating the site, and retrieving citations are topics covered in this video.

Education Database Tutorial

Education Database Tutorial

If your research involves some aspect of the Education field the Education database which contains information from over 300 education journals could be very helpful. Discover the features and some search tips for using this database in this video tutorial.

Gale Literature Resource Center Tutorial

Gale Literature Resource Center Tutorial

This tutorial highlights key features for searching the Literature Resource Center database. Basic and Advanced searches, how to navigate the results list, and find citations are some of the topics covered in this video.

Please note, the database name has changed to Gale Literature Resource Center, so it is now located under G in the A-Z Database listing.

JSTOR Video Tutorial

JSTOR Video Tutorial

This tutorial highlights key features of searching the JSTOR database. Advanced searches, navigating the results list, and retrieving citations are some of the topics covered in the video.

National Newspapers Video Tutorial

How to Search the National Newspapers Database

Do you need information from the popular press for your research project? This video tutorial provides tips on how to search the National Newspapers database, which includes information from The Baltimore Sun, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Nursing Reference Center Video Tutorial

How to Search Nursing Reference Center

Learn how to use the searching and browsing features in the Nursing Reference Center database.

This resource is specifically designed for nurses and provides evidence-based information for point of care, nursing research, and more.

About the Library

Due to the pandemic, the library is currently operating remotely.

Hours of Operation

During Summer 2020 online classes, HCC librarians will be available for live chat M-Th 8am-8pm and Fri 8am-5pm. Outside of these hours, please email us for assistance.

chat loading...

Library Information Desk
240-500-2237
library@hagerstowncc.edu

For more information, see the library About Page.

follow me on facebook

Need more help with your assignment? Visit the Learning Support Center. For information on placement and course testing, contact the Academic Testing Center