LibGuides: Legal Studies Resource Guide: Streaming Media

Streaming Media

OneSearch: Streaming Media

The William M. Brish Library provides access to thousands of streaming videos via our databases.

Search for streaming video in the databases listed on this page, or the OneSearch box on the library homepage. To see only video resources, use the Source Type filter to select Video.

Films on Demand

National Newspapers

National Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes newspaper, magazine, and website articles; videos and audio; blogs and podcasts published by The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Baltimore Sun. For tips on how to use this resource, refer to the National Newspapers video tutorial.

Films on Demand Videos

Below is a sample of the many individual videos and video series available from the William M. Brish Library Films on Demand collection. To find more titles in your area of interest, go to the Films on Demand home page link below; select the “Advanced Search” link under the search box and choose your subject area from "Step 2. Choose filters. Subjects” dropdown menu. Your results can then be filtered to reflect a certain time period to find current titles. You can also enter a keyword in the search box on the “Advanced Search” page to search for a specific concept in your subject area.

Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video collection of nearly 16,000 titles that you may view on your computer anywhere you have Internet access. Content areas are selected by library staff and faculty to support current programs of study and may be assigned as required viewing in your classes. Links to required videos may also be found in your class D2L site.

Law Careers: Paralegal
This video introduces the day-to-day work of paralegals who function as assistants to attorneys. A typical day includes phone contact, organizing files, and working on tasks given by attorneys.
Solutions to the Legal System's Problems
In this TEDTalk segment, Bryan Stevenson talks about efforts to redirect money from punishment toward solving crimes, and addresses the argument that mass incarceration has reduced crime.
Courts, Trials & Sentencing: Due Process
This program provides a solid grounding in the processes and players involved in the court system and takes viewers step by step through a trial and sentencing. Legal experts explain probable cause, plea bargaining, the types of witness testimony that might be challenged, and other key elements, including how juvenile offenders are dealt with.
Police Tactics: The Interrogation
How can police know if a suspect is lying or not? What makes a good interrogation? In America, an estimated 25% of confessions are thought to be false. The old ‘good cop, bad cop’ trick’ is one of the oldest and most famous interrogation methods in the book. Despite its Hollywood status, the overbearing demeanor of one investigator combined with the seemingly supportive nature of another is a real-life method used in getting confessions out of suspects. But what about when suspects give false confessions? Pressure, relentless questioning, fatigue, delirium; all can play a significant part in an interrogation and suspects have been known to admit to crimes which they have been proven innocent of years later while in jail. This video examines some of these cases and to see how bad and overpowering questioning methods can actually suppress the truth rather than reveal it.

Contact Us

Home Page

Library website

Chat

About the Library

Special Hours & Closures

Campus Closed

April 18-20

Regular Hours

M-Th: 8 am - 6 pm
Fri: 8 am - 4:30 pm
Weekends: Closed

Library Information Desk

LRC-200
240-500-2237
301-393-3681
library@hagerstowncc.edu
hagerstowncc.edu/library

Legal Studies Resource Guide: Streaming Media