‚Äč Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HCC Archives: Home

Welcome to the HCC Archives Guide! 

Welcome to the Hagerstown Community College  Archives! We are located in the William M. Brish Library on the second floor of the Learning Resource Center (LRC). Our mission is to preserve the history of Hagerstown Community College and to make these resources available to students and faculty as well as community members. Resources in the archives include institutional documents, faculty dissertations, student government resources, and photographs, as well as a small collection of artifacts. For more information regarding the collections, please browse the Collection Finding Aids section. 

Unlike materials from the Brish Library, all materials in the HCC Archives are non-circulating. Collections are open to researchers, but must be viewed in the library. 

Students on Hagerstown Junior College's Campus, pre 1990. 

Share your Coronavirus Stories!

Submit your stories here

We are living in a uniquely historical time, and we want to hear how Covid-19 is impacting you. The Hagerstown Community College Archives is collecting stories, diary entries, or first hand experiences of how our community has been affected by this global pandemic. This is an entirely voluntary and self-expressive response, so don't worry about grammar or spelling. We are more interested in hearing your voice and your stories. We are accepting digital as well as print responses, anything you would like to contribute to help document these difficult times.

Visiting the Archives

Are you interested in researching in the archives? 

Whether you are curious about what student life was like when HCC first opened, or are looking for photographs from the 1996 graduation ceremony, we've got you covered! The Brish Library Archives preserves HCC's history and brings it to its students. 

To view materials in the archives please schedule an appointment prior to visiting. This will provide the archivist time to retrieve the desired collections.

To make an appointment call or email Sarah Conrad, Archives and Reference Librarian. 

 

Hours & Location

Hours:

Please schedule an appointment to visit the Archives during normal library hours. 

Monday-Thursday: 8:30 am-6:00 pm

Friday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm

Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Location: 

The HCC Archives is located on the second floor of the Learning Resource Center as a part of the William M. Brish Library. 

What is an Archive?

An archive is a place where items of historical value are kept to help preserve them and make them accessible to researchers. Most colleges and universities have an archive on campus to collect and preserve materials related to the college and its history. Some other types of archives include: government archives, business or corporate archives, or museum archives. 

Archives collect all types of materials, from paper-based materials to photographs, film or even artifacts. The job of the archivist is to preserve the materials and make them available for researchers to use. Archival materials are arranged differently than regular library materials. They are arranged into collections that vary in size and content. Most materials found in an archives are Primary Sources, or first-hand accounts of an event by someone who witnessed it. 

Common Terms Used in the Archives

To help you better prepare for using archival materials, please review some of these common terms used by archivists:

Finding Aid: A tool that facilitates discovery of information within a collection of records. - A description of records that gives researchers access to and understanding of a collection of items. 

Collection: A group of archival materials that is intentionally arranged based on subject, form, geographic scope, or some other common characteristic. 

Provenance and Original Order: 

  • Provenance: The origin or source of an item. -Information regarding the source and ownership of an item(s). 
  • Original Order: The organization and sequence of records established by the creator of the records. 
  • Archives will often follow the principles of provenance and original order when creating collections. This means items from two different origins should not be placed in the same collection, and that items in a collection should be kept in the same order that they were created in. 

For more definitions, check out the Society of American Archivists Glossary.

Archives & Reference Librarian

Sarah Conrad's picture
Sarah Conrad
Contact:
LRC-218
240-500-2539
Subjects:History