It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video Tutorial: Finding Scholarly Sources in OneSearch
This tutorial explains how to conduct a basic search for scholarly articles using HCC's Library OneSearch tool. Basic search, limiting results, and retrieving citations are topics covered in this video.
Finding Scholarly Articles in Databases
While some databases only contain content from scholarly resources, many provide an option to limit the articles retrieved in a search to those originally published in scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. Look below for tips on how to limit your results within specific databases. Visit our video tutorials to learn how to search several of the databases listed below.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections
Select the "Articles" item type under Narrow By to see only scholarly journal articles in the results list.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals from the Arts & Sciences I, III & VIII collections which include archaeology, arts & art history, classical studies, history, humanities, language & literature, music, philosophy, and social sciences. To learn how to search this resource, refer to the How to search JSTOR tutorial on the video tutorials libguide.
Select "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" under Limit Your Results. Also, selecting "Academic Journals" under Source Types on the left of the results page will further limit results to scholarly, peer reviewed journals.
Note: Occasionally, a peer-reviewed magazine or trade publication may still be included in the search.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowArticles with information in the areas of social sciences, humanities, science, education, and others in over 7,962 journals. To learn how to search this resource, refer to the Academic Search Premier tutorial on the video tutorials libguide.
Using Scholarly Sources
How to Recognize a Scholarly Source
Scholarly sources are written by experts in a particular field to keep other scholars or professionals aware of the most recent studies or research in that field.
Additional characteristics of scholarly sources:
Articles have abstracts and cited references
All tables, graphs, and charts include content related to the publication in which they're found
Published in scholarly journals or scholarly books
Scholarly journals and books are typically published by universities or professional associations
For more information on how to recognize scholarly sources, see the PowerPoint presentation below.
Although faculty are usually referring to journal articles when asking students to use scholarly resources, some scholars choose to publish their research in book form. To determine if a book is scholarly, first look for information in the book that details the author's expertise in the subject area, such as a doctorate (Ph.D.) or an indication of being a faculty member at a prestigious college or university. Next, look at the publisher to determine if they are a university press or a publishing house that specializes in a specific scholarly discipline. Finally, take a close look at the content of the book. If it is scholarly, it will be written for scholars or other experts and not for the general public.
This article from ScienceBuddies helps you understand the difference between review articles and original research, discover the sections of a scientific article, and learn strategies for reading them.
Critical thinking is necessary to read the scientific literature. However, in addition to questions about the science, often one must also question the meaning of the text. This article provides an example of the analyses needed to understand a single sentence. In so doing, it raises several interesting issues of meaning, measurement, statistical analyses, and the form in which results are presented and interpreted.