LibGuides: Reading Resource Guide: Home

Request items we don't have

Interlibrary Loan

Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Contact the LSC & Tutoring Hub:

Location: LSC-100
Phone: 240-500-2560
Email: lsc@hagerstowncc.edu
Website: hagerstowncc.edu/lsc

Online Paper Feedback

Library Resources

Search for resources quickly using OneSearch

Improve your reading skills

Reading academic resources can be a bit of a challenge. It requires different skills than leisure reading, such as being able to analyze text for themes, annotating text as you read, and using questions to guide your reading. The resources below describe these skills in detail and will help you develop or improve your academic reading ability.

OWL Excelsior
This free online source includes exercises, instructional videos, and interactive modules to help you develop college level reading and comprehension skills.
Lumen Reading Strategies
A useful online tool to learn new skills for improving your academic reading comprehension.
10 Strategies to Improve Your Reading Comprehension
10 tips and tricks from Purdue University Global to help improve your reading comprehension and academic success.
Reading Comprehension Tips & Tricks
A useful resource from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that details ways to improve reading comprehension for college classes.

Library Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Contains encyclopedia articles, full-text journal/magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access information from more than 138,000 ebooks on a variety of topics from this Brish Library collection. General subject areas available include titles in Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Language & Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, and Social Sciences. To learn how to use this resource, refer to the Finding a Book in Ebook Central guide in PDF.
EBSCO ebooks This link opens in a new window
A subset of our many EBSCO database offerings, this EBSCO ebook collection contains 1,500 book titles from the Arts, Business, Education, and Social Sciences to STEM topics, such as the natural sciences and medicine.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and encyclopedias covering a wide range of topics from a variety of disciplines including literature, law, social sciences, science, and technology.
National Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes newspaper, magazine, and website articles; videos and audio; blogs and podcasts published by The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Baltimore Sun. For tips on how to use this resource, refer to the How to search the National Newspapers database video tutorial .
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
The OneSearch searches multiple databases on a wide variety of topics, including article databases, ebook databases, and streaming video collections. For more information on using the OneSearch, watch our video tutorial intro, Finding Scholarly Articles with OneSearch, the Advanced OneSearch tutorial, or Full Text & ILL.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
Springer ebooks This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection of 36,000 items focuses primarily on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics) topics, but also includes scholarly book titles from the Social Sciences. Uncheck the option “Include Preview-Only content” at the top left under the search box to access the titles owned by the Brish Library.

Contact Us

Home Page

Library website

Chat

Special Hours & Closures

Campus Closed: May 27

Reduced Hours: May 8-17
M-F 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Regular Library Hours

M-Th 8 am - 6 pm
Fri 8 am - 4:30 pm
CLOSED weekends

Library Information Desk

LRC-200
240-500-2237
301-393-3681
library@hagerstowncc.edu
hagerstowncc.edu/library

Reading Resource Guide: Home

Welcome to the College Reading Resource Guide

Go to Library Homepage

Table of Contents

Request items we don't have

Hours:

Contact the LSC & Tutoring Hub:

Online Paper Feedback

Library Resources

Search for resources quickly using OneSearch

Improve your reading skills

Library Resources

Contact Us

Home Page

Chat

Special Hours & Closures

Campus Closed: May 27

Reduced Hours: May 8-17
M-F 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Regular Library Hours

Library Information Desk

Reading Resource Guide: Home

Welcome to the College Reading Resource Guide

Go to Library Homepage

Table of Contents

Request items we don't have

Hours:

Contact the LSC & Tutoring Hub:

Online Paper Feedback

Library Resources

Search for resources quickly using OneSearch

Improve your reading skills

Library Resources

Contact Us

Home Page

Chat

Special Hours & Closures

Campus Closed: May 27

Reduced Hours: May 8-17 M-F 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Regular Library Hours

Library Information Desk

Reduced Hours: May 8-17
M-F 8:00 am - 4:30 pm