LibGuides: English Resource Guide: English Literature

English and Writing Experts

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Support Center

240-500-2560

Subjects: College Success, English, English for Speakers of Other Languages, Library Information, Literature, Reading, Writing Assistance

Writing Assistance

Online Writing Feedback

We offer emailed help with all writing assignments (not just English) at any stage of the writing process.

The LSC is experiencing a high volume of submissions during the end of the semester. Paper returns may be longer than anticipated. We encourage you to come into the LSC for more immediate feedback.

Please allow 48-72 hours or two to three business days to receive a response.

If you submit an assignment on Saturday or Sunday, the soonest staff can respond is Monday.

We will not respond to essays submitted on or received the same day they are due.

If you need help immediately, please check our Home page to see other options for Writing & Research help.

Research Databases

Browse the list of databases below for the best resources on literature, finding primary sources, and eBooks.

Ebook Central
Access information from more than 138,000 ebooks on a variety of topics from this Brish Library collection. General subject areas available include titles in Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Language & Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, and Social Sciences. To learn how to use this resource, refer to the Finding a Book in Ebook Central guide in PDF.
EBSCO ebooks
A subset of our many EBSCO database offerings, this EBSCO ebook collection contains 1,500 book titles from the Arts, Business, Education, and Social Sciences to STEM topics, such as the natural sciences and medicine.
Gale eBooks
Access ebooks and encyclopedias covering a wide range of topics from a variety of disciplines including literature, law, social sciences, science, and technology.
Gale Literature Criticism
Full text of the Twentieth Century Literary Criticism and Short Story Criticism series beginning with 2011 volumes. Search this database along with all other Gale literature resources via the Gale Literature OneSearch.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographies, literary criticism, articles, work overviews, and a literary-historical timeline. Search this database along with all other Gale literature resources via the Gale Literature OneSearch. Access the Literature Resource Center tutorial on the video tutorials libguide.
Historic Newspaper Indexing Project
Articles from seven newspapers of the Tri-State region (Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia) dating from 1845 to 1849 and 1860 to 1865.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, which include archaeology, arts & art history, classical studies, history, humanities, language & literature, music, philosophy, and social sciences. To learn how to search this resource, refer to the How to search JSTOR tutorial on the video tutorials libguide.
Literature Online
Over 350,000 works of literature, author biographical information, and literary criticism.
WHILBR
Correspondence, images, land patents, cemeteries, tax records and more relating to Western Maryland from 1787 to 1924, including Women's suffrage, and the 1918 flu.

Reference Resources

Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
Gale eBooks
Access ebooks and encyclopedias covering a wide range of topics from a variety of disciplines including literature, law, social sciences, science, and technology.
Britannica Academic
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Contains encyclopedia articles, full-text journal/magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools.