LibGuides: History Resource Guide: Home

Background Information

Explore the historical context of your topic with one of the e-reference books below, or search the entire collection at one time in the Gale Ebooks Reference Collection.

Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History
Features more than 830 entries covering key global historical events from a regional perspective.
American Decades Primary Sources: 2000 - 2009
A look at recent events and influential people using a variety of primary sources.
American Eras: Primary Sources
Full-text or excerpts of primary sources that illustrate events, people, or trends. 8 volumes each looking at a different era of US development.
UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History
Details the history of the U.S. from before the Revolution until the present.
Daily Life in the Hellenistic Age: From Alexander to Cleopatra
Details of daily life from primary sources or archaeological discoveries.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Search for current and historical cultural information on Muslims world-wide.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

History 101 Open Textbooks

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500
Download the full text in PDF, or a lower resolution version of this popular open education resource (OER) textbook. 2016 Edition.
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 (Download individual chapters)
Use this link and select the Download tab to download individual chapters of this textbook in PDF.

Request items we don't have

Interlibrary Loan Request

Interlibrary Loan

Can I access National Geographic through the library? Do you have a subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education? This search can help you answer similar questions!

Type the title of the desired publication in the search widget above.

Please Note: This search will only tell you whether or not we have access to a particular publication (and if we do have access, which issues can be found in which databases). To search for individual articles within a journal, please use the OneSearch.

Library Databases

Look under the Finding Scholarly Journal Articles tab above for instructions on how to limit search results to only scholarly journal articles in each database listed below:

Bridging the Antietam

Bridging the Antietam, a grant project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, brings together English composition classes and local history and lore through student learning projects that spotlight the folklore, narratives, and history of the Antietam Creek region (western Maryland, south central Pennsylvania, and eastern West Virginia) that Hagerstown Community College (HCC) serves. The site showcases student and faculty projects alongside other sources of local folklore and history to inspire future projects.

Image: Jasperdo on Flickr

Contact Us

Home Page

Library website

Chat

Special Hours & Closures

Campus Closed

November 26-30

Regular Hours

M-Th: 8 am - 6 pm
Fri: 8 am - 4:30 pm
Weekends: Closed

Library Information Desk

LRC-200
240-500-2237
301-393-3681
library@hagerstowncc.edu
hagerstowncc.edu/library

Tutoring Help

Need help with an assignment? The Learning Support Center offers peer- and staff-led group tutoring as well as individual tutoring sessions (no appointment needed).

Learning Support Center

Regular Hours:

Mon - Thur: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Walk-in Tutoring Schedule

(See HCC site for weather closures)

STEM Appointment

Writing Appointment

Contact Us:

LSC Building
Tutoring & Writing Help
240-500-2560
lsc@hagerstowncc.edu
or use our Contact Form
hagerstowncc.edu/lsc
Faculty Overview

History Resource Guide: Home

Welcome to the History Resource Guide

Table of Contents