A U.S. Census Bureau resource that provides regional economic data by industry, including the number of establishments, employment during a specified time period, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas and analyzing economic changes over time.
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the site provides labor force data and non-farm wage/salary employment information. This link is for the Maryland report, but information for other states can be accessed from the left menu of this page.
From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), this site provides a summation of banking and economic conditions in each state. To find data for a specific state., select that geographic area on the map.
Provided by the Maryland State Department of Planning, this site provides census information, including socioeconomic information specific to Maryland.
Site includes summary data provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics for areas in the Mid-Atlantic Region. Information provided includes employment statistics, consumer price index, average energy prices, and pay/benefits for the cities included in the reports. The regional coverage includes Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and West Virginia.
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture statistics on the agricultural economy of each state. Information by State is available, as well as, reports focusing on specific commodities, e.g. alpacas, feed grains, etc.
Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau annually (except for years ending in 2 and 7), this survey provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employees. Statistics gathered include employment, payroll, supplemental labor costs, cost of materials consumed, operating expenses, value of shipments, value added by manufacturing, detailed capital expenditures, fuels and electric energy used, and inventories.
From the U.S. Council of Economic Advisers, this site provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, federal finance, and international statistics from 1995 onward.
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, the sources of these statistics cover all parts of the business economy with some exceptions which are listed on the site. Results from the business owner survey are included as is data by geographical location.
Securities and Exchange Commission files that all companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file electronically, including registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms, such as 10-K reports.
Statistics and reports on various aspects of the U.S. economy, broken down nationally, regionally (including state data), and by industry. International indicators are also provided.
Provides information on the state of employment in the United States, including “labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.”
Conducted every 5 years by the U. S. Census Bureau, this survey provides information for every industry. It includes statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities.
