Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Chat with a Librarian

During Summer 2020 online classes, HCC librarians will be available for live chat M-Th 8am-8pm and Fri 8am-5pm. Outside of these hours, please email us for assistance.

chat loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Two video collections (Shakespeare's Globe On Screen 1 & 2), providing access to 30 live productions performed by leading actors on the stage of the Globe Theater from 2008 to 2018.
Trial
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases. Included also are
• Fastcase Premium: In addition to the U.S. federal and state case law included with Fastcase Basic, Fastcase Premium provides added features such as (1) full-text and metadata case law searching, (2) ScholarCheck’s citation features that provides articles and cases that cite the current case, and (3) Bad Law Bot’s full negative treatment analysis.
• U.S. State Package (Maryland): The most comprehensive and affordable collection of constitutional, historical, and current materials available for the state of Maryland. Available until Dec. 15, 2020. Part of Covid-19 scholarly response.
New
Containing sources from both sides of the political spectrum, this open access collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals covers non-mainstream views over the last 70+ years that may not be found elsewhere.
Trial
Search for additional academic articles in JSTOR, covering most scholarly disciplines. Available until December 31, 2020. Part of Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
Available via a YouTube channel, these 34 documentaries are free to use. Titles include individual titles as well as episodes from several series (Our Planet, Explained, Abstract: The Art of Design, & Babies.) Instructional materials have been made available on the videos websites. Available indefinitely. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
Access to almost 700 digital titles from 2015 to present in the humanities and social sciences. No end date at this time. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
One-stop-shop for ebooks from over 40 academic publishers made available for use during the current health crisis. Access rules and availability varies. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
Free access to 10 scholarly journals in the life and earth sciences fields. Click on the Search the Journals tab to search all at one time. Available until a date yet to be determined. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
Access over 2,000 YA/Teen ebooks, graphic novels, and audio books covering a variety of fiction and non-fiction topics, including drama & poetry. This collection also contains documentary videos on historical, geographical, and general science subjects. Available until Aug. 31, 2020. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
A collection of over 250 animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, and non-fiction books. Includes exciting games and puzzles and a collection of Spanish and French books. Available until Aug. 31, 2020. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.
Trial
Over 1,000 ebooks from the University of Michigan Press available for reading only. Search the collection using the Search box at the top of the page. This collection is Read-Only. Accessible through August 31, 2020. Part of the Covid-19 scholarly response.

Journals and Periodicals

Along with the library's databases, you may also find our online and print journals and periodicals collection helpful in your research. Check out the listing of available journals!

KnightCite Citation Tool

Click on the KnightCite Citation Tool link below to assist you in creating APA, MLA, or Chicago citations for the resources you find.

Loading...
Loading...